Family law can be a stressful and emotional time for those going through a divorce or separation. Most importantly, parents who have minor children together are often required to undergo the ordeal of deciding on custody rights, visitation rights, and child support, making the process taxing for both parties. Here is some of the basic […]
If you are getting a divorce, filing for custody, or involved in another family law issue, there are several options that may be available to you.
As an individual facing a legal issue, your first thought might be to immediately consult with an attorney. While in many circumstances this is in fact the best option, attorney fees can be costly and add up quickly, and some legal issues can be resolved without needing representation.
Discrimination/Civil Rights California Rural Legal Assistance, mentioned in part 1 of this blog post, also assists individuals with civil rights issues. They are located in Santa Maria and can be reached at (805) 922-4563. The American Civil Liberties Union is a nationwide nonprofit organization that assists individuals in legal matters such as first amendment rights, […]
If you cannot afford an attorney, there are several local resources that can assist with various legal matters. Part 1 covers landlord/tenant law, family law, and civil litigation.
Please join us for the Crown Jewel of local MCLE: The Bench & Bar Conference 2017
WHEN: Saturday, January 21, 2017, 8:15 am – 4 pm.
WHERE: at the Historic Santa Barbara Superior Courthouse
The Santa Barbara County Lawyer Referral Service is a free service that will connect a client with an appropriate attorney for a 30 minute consultation. However, the attorney will bill the client per any subsequent arrangements made after this initial meeting. There are a few different ways the attorney may request payment:
A Minor in Possession, or MIP, is a misdemeanor that can be issued whenever a person under the age of 21 possesses an alcoholic beverage in a public place. In California, a person who is found guilty of this offense may face a fine of $250, or up to 32 hours of community service, for the first offense and a fine of $500, or up to 48 hours of community service, for subsequent offenses. They may also have their driver’s license suspended for up to 1 year. Each subsequent underage conviction can lead to additional one-year suspensions.